Jonathan Torres winner of the 2022 Sharpe-Walentas Studio Program Awardees

The Sharpe-Walentas Studio Program is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2022-2023 award of a year-long rent-free studio space in DUMBO, Brooklyn.

The recipients for 2022 are aricoco (Ari Tabei), David Atkin, Jeane Cohen, Avram Finkelstein, Jim Gaylord, Yasi Ghanbari, William Kohler, Janice Nowinski, Maia Palileo, Martha Poggioli, Erin Riley, Kathia St. Hilaire, Jonathan Torres, Grace Troxell, Margaux Valengin, Naeem Mohaiemen, Cherrie Yu.

The seventeen artists were selected from a competitive pool of 1500 applicants by a jury comprising Ellen Altfest, Julie Curtiss, Deborah Kass, Arthur Simms, and Didier Williams. The residency period will last from September 2022 through August 2023, with an open studios weekend to be scheduled for spring 2023.

Jonathan Torres was born in San Juan, Puerto Rico in 1983, received his BFA in 2009 from the Escuela de Artes Plásticas, San Juan, and his MFA from Brooklyn College in 2012 under the mentorship of Vito Acconci. Nominee of the Joan Mitchell Foundation grant, Torres was selected for the Biennale Mercosul (Brazil 2016), won the Charles G. Shaw Award (NY, 2012) and the Arcos Dorados Award (Argentina, 2011). Torres has been exhibiting in solo and group shows between New York and Puerto Rico for over ten years. His work has been featured in Flash Art, Beautiful/Decay, and Art Observed, among other publications. Torres lives and works in Brooklyn, NY and his work belongs to important collections such as the Museum of Fine Art, Boston and Museo Contemporáneo de Puerto Rico.